• October 6, 2022

The winners of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry have been announced

The winners of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry have been announced

Cryo-electron microscopy makes it possible to look at biomolecules in their environment in tr jdimensions. Special preparation is needed for traditional electron microscopy pr bki using sorority of compounds in chemical. As a result, the natural structure of molecules is destroyed.

The cryo-electron microscopy process requires biological particles to be frozen quickly, so their natural shape is preserved. Assembling with the help of a computer such an image in with each other allows for a high quality image tr jdimensional.

The technique allows looking at biomolecules at the level of single atoms They were also awarded for explaining the mechanism of the well-preserved wine storage vessels, so that the structure of each molecule can be studied in great detail. It has improved our ability to study the structures of bio-molecules. "The technique has revolutionized biochemistry. Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson have made fundamental discoveries that re enabled the development of j cryo-electron microscopy. This method has brought biochemistry into a new era. It makes it easier than ever to image biomolecules" – reads a press release prepared by the Nobel Committee.

It was thanks to the cryo-electron microscopy technique that images of the Zika virus rampant in South America were obtained, kt re then used for further research on it.

Jacques Dubochet is a biophysicist from Switzerland. He is affiliated with the University of Lausanne. The second of the Nobel – Joachim Frank is a German biophysicist, kt ry works at Columbia University in the US. The last scientist honored today was Scottish molecular biologist Richard Henderson. It is associated with the University of Cambridge.

Nobel week is underway as of Monday. The Nobel Prize in medicine and physiology was awarded on Monday to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young. They were awarded for explaining the mechanism of the In controlling the diurnal rhythm. The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded yesterday. The winners were Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne for his contribution to the discovery of gravitational waves.

On October 5, the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature will be announced. Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to sz stego October, and on the ninth the name of the winner in economics will be announced.

The Nobel Foundation announced a few days ago that this year’s Nobel laureates will receive one million crowns (104,000. euros) more from the scientistsc In honored in previous years. The total will be nine million in the crowns (940. Thousand. euro). Researchers will receive Also a Nobel gold medal and a commemorative diploma.